Been Wondering Where I am?

Me too!  Ha!  Not really.  You see, a couple of months ago I got “itchy feet.” I love to travel and during the Spring when Mike is so busy with prepping, plowing, and planting, I get lonesome for human company. It seems to happen every year. It is then that I yearn to travel.

So I had the bug and called a dear friend of mine to see if there was “room at the inn.” It was then I found out she had just been diagnosed with cancer and faced surgery in the near future. I was in shock and in about a second my desire to travel for fun became a need to travel to her, to be by her side, to help however I could, to satisfy myself that in spite of the disease she was “healthy.” Afterall, she and I had been friends since last year, when we were seventh graders. (Of course I’m kidding…not about seventh grade, but it has been about 40 years since we were seventh graders!)

I began making plans to visit her the day of her surgery or soon thereafter. Meanwhile, my oldest brother had a heart attack and was to undergo a quadruple bypass. I made plans to fly in for that visit too. As it turns out, their surgeries fell within a few days of each other and I could make sure my brother was doing well before traveling on to be with my “sister” for her surgery. At this writing, both are doing quite well….although they might dispute the word “well” depending on their current pain level.

I am now back home, greeted by a fiance and the three dogs who apparently thought I was never coming back. I have never seen such excitement in this crew! The bad news for my blog readers is that my stay will only last about a week and I will fly off again to be with my “sister” for the next round in her several surgeries. I will be back, though, I promise. Just hang tight.

Mike got the garden mostly planted while I was gone and the soybeans are in the ground. He is now working on his hay baler, which apparently someone decided they needed parts off more than he. They stole so far adding  up to more than $1,000 to replace, not counting labor. I suspect it was a former field worker or the local kid that stole the timber off our land a few months ago. Nonetheless, if we are going to have hay for winter, it must be fixed. The corn he planted in April will not suffice for the cattle. Mike also plans to plant pumpkins for sale at the local farmers market.

Of themselves, none of these crops are sufficient for living income. The combination of all, however, we hope will allow us to at least break even this year– that is, if people would quit stealing from the farm.

By the way, for those wondering if the cows would remember me after being gone so long. Yes, they did. Mike drove me by the calf shed on my arrival home. Coco, Runner, and Ricky were in the field nearby and I called them as we passed. Ricky and Runner kicked up their heels and followed the truck in a trot while Coco, who turned into a black (not red) Jersey in the past three weeks, stared at me with a look that said, “You are coming to pet me, aren’t you?”

Ah, yes. I feel like I am home.

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Cattle Baroness, cattle information, Kentucky, lamentations of a city girl and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Been Wondering Where I am?

  1. Jim T says:

    You owe the blogosphere nothing, Lady Baroness. Take care of your loved ones (including the four-legged ones) first and give us any scraps of time you care to from what is left over. Love from your friends and your cattle is to be prized far more than readership and responses from here. Best wishes to your “sister” and brother. Appalling to hear of the thefts. Some people have no shame. Thanks for writing.

Leave a Reply

