Ch-ch-ch-changes!

(I feel it important to remind my readers that I write off the top of my head, and dash it out on my way out, so proof-reading is limited. Therefore, expect grammar and spelling errors and even more so, expect the writing to jump from subject to subject. It is the way I think.)

Mike is out feeding the calves right now. He will be moving a large roll of hay in for the cattle at the other farm and checking their water.

photo courtesy: http://www.cracked.com

With the temperatures reaching the mid 80s the past few days, the cattle have slurped it up like a wino to a bottle of Ripple.

(I know it is a bad joke, but c’mon get a sense of humor, would ya?! Just groan and “mooooo-ve along, there’s nuthin’ to see here.”)

Anyway….we lost another of the turkeys yesterday. The other chicks sat on him and pecked him almost to death. Mike put him in a beer box in the brooder so he could be protected, but even being segregated and given food and water, he never recovered. Sad, but that is the way things are when you raise livestock. There is the humane side of things, and there is the financial side. The loss of these two chicks represents a loss perhaps of $100 in November. I guess, if you want to farm, you had better like to gamble.  Odds are, if you raise animals right, you will make a small profit at the end of the ‘growing season’…there is always a risk, as well.

In addition to moving the feeding, moving the hay (by tractor), and watering the herds, Mike will nail up one side of the greenhouse where they got plastic put on it yesterday, but did not quite finish the job. He wants to get that done before the storms arrive this afternoon. One loose section can help the wind pull the whole thing down again, even with strapping laid over it.

New greenhouse plastic

While Mike is working outside today until it rains, I am working inside. I see some apples we haven’t eaten that need to be salvaged and either canned or baked. The chicken I thawed last night in the refrigerator has to be cut up for frying tonight and then there is staining cabinets. No excuses not to do it. Mike bought the brushes yesterday. Drat!  (I am really quite pleased he did, actually.)

Not much else to report. I will mow more when Mike gets the tires back for the mower and the weather is sunny again. The calves are growing; the turkeys, too. The dogs spend their day with Mike and riding in “their” truck (they have even learned to spell it). The new icemaker sprung a leak all over my kitchen floor yesterday and has to be repaired…rainy day work AFTER Mike replaces the kitchen sink and faucet. Yep, all is normal and to a city-girl’s eyes, pretty boring. But I am not bored this year.  I feel content and at peace for the most part.

I think I am changing.

I just realized, other than a brief visit with my soon-to-be-ex daughter in law, I haven’t been to a shopping mall in so long I can’t remember. She loves them and is so far into “name brand” she confuses taste with price. You know, the “Oh , this is a such-an-such designer purse. I have fifteen of them” kind of mentality.  The funny thing is, I don’t really miss the mall and I really don’t care who designed a bag I can make more cheaply and of higher quality myself. That sort of attitude and severe case of the “gimmes” irritates me to no end. Even at the height of my “city-girlness” I was never brand conscious. I find it ludicrous to pay extra for a name on a product that was probably produced by slaves in another country. That part of me has not changed.

So I am off now to prepare an apple pie to go with our fried chicken dinner tonight. Mike would prefer cherry, but the apples will go to waste if I don’t use them. Then I have an appointment with the soon to be Bombay Mahoganey cabinets (and floor trim). Should make for an interesting day. Yes, I said it…an INTERESTING day.

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Animals, Cattle Baroness, cattle information, farm advocacy, humor, Kentucky, lamentations of a city girl, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

