The Running of the Bull

Bulls running on 7th July 2005, Consistorial S...

Image via Wikipedia

What an adventure today! Took Pip for a walk to the garden (about 1/4 mile from the house) so he could munch on some kale and Pak Choi…he tasted a little lettuce, ate a few leaves of turnips, wanted to try some cilantro (I stopped him)…in general he was enjoying our walk immensely…

When it was time to go back, I asked him if he wanted to go see Rowdy. Now, cows are not as stupid as you might think. He knows who Rowdy is and where he is in relation to where we walk and daily quickens his step to return to his room mate. Today, wasn’t that different EXCEPT…

On the dirt road back to his stall, the rain turned the road bed into a slippery mass of mud. Pip decided at that exact moment, not to just speed up a little but to run back to Rowdy at full speed. He yanked the lead out of my hand and there we were, a half-grown calf running a high speed up the lane dragging his blue lead behind him and me, little chubby, short legged, old lady me running behind him, but not gaining any ground! I looked like Fred Flinstone trying to get his car rolling! Instead of yelling, “Yabadabadoo!” though, I’m yelling “Pip, whoa! Pip, Whoa! Whoa, Pip! MIIIIIIIKKKKKKKKEEEEEEE!  Pip, whoa!” The little bull just keep running up the dirt road, across the strawberry field, and to the yard in front of his shed.

Fortunately, Mike was near the shed when he arrived and prevented the little bull from running into the two foot ditch being dug  by the plumber to run the water lines for the shed!

So Mike stopped him. He said that Pip actually allowed him to stop him and grab the lead. Nevertheless, the little guy’s eyes were wide and he had that ‘deer in a headlight’ look about him. I comforted Pip by rubbing his neck and speaking softly “Whoa, Pip. Good boy. Stand Pip” and he calmed down. I guess running away from your walking partner can be kind of scarey when a blue snake is chasing you (the lead). I then returned him to his bedroom. He’s happy now. He has Rowdy beside him, munched some grain, had a big drink of water and is settling back into his routine. Me? I’m trying to unhook my boobs from behind my ears where they landed when I took off in the run, dig the cow poop and mud from the soles of my shoes and if I ever catch my breath again, will eat some lunch.  Whew! What a day!

There was a lesson to be learned here. Don’t waterski on mud when the skiboat is a bull…and if you do, don’t drop the rope! You just might find yourself running with the bulls instead.

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Animals, Cattle Baroness, humor, Kentucky, lamentations of a city girl, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Running of the Bull

  1. Jim T says:

    You’re a first-class bull whisperer, we know that. I think you could write a book on communicating with cattle, calming and persuading them, breaking them to a lead, all that. LOL at the “unhooking” image, you’re quite a selector of descriptive details. Glad nobody got hurt. Take care of yourself, and the boys, and the girls.

  2. Ha! I prefer to think of myself as master of the bull! I took Pip and Rowdy out again later. Rowdy has decided he will not obey voice commands. He just wants to eat, not walk or run, just eat. Pip loves to explore the farm and for the second walk of the day actually put his head into the loop of the lead of his own free will. Nice.

    As usual, Jim, I appreciate your comments. It is good to know somewhere out there is reading. Thank you.

  3. Hey…did you know you cannot edit a comment? That should have read “someone.”

Leave a Reply

