Why Aren’t I Posting Every Day?

I’m sorry there has been a little lapse in my posts, but things have gotten very busy here. I’m in the process of doing final revisions of my Masters thesis in order to defend it in August and the garden is in full swing, which means canning, pickling, drying and freezing the produce. I have also taken a job as a substitute teacher for one of the local high schools and have final employment responsbilities to handle.

In fact, I went to pick up an employment packet from the school district this past week and made arrangements for my physical exam. Seemed a waste of time to drive into town for ten minutes worth of business, so I decided to treat myself to lunch out. No fast food for me, this was to be something special, and I ended up at a nice place downtown with patio dining. As I looked over the menu, I realized how close the restaurant was to the farmers’ market and I wondered where they got their produce. I asked the waitress, who said she didn’t know but would find out for me. She returned with both the owner and the chef.

The upshot is we ended up with an improptu business meeting discussing locally-grown produce, delivery times, and prices. Mike will make our first delivery to them tomorrow. They want squash, zucchini, oyster and shiitake mushrooms, green beans, and at least 40 lbs of tomatoes a week! They are also interested in okra, eggplant, potatoes, and anything else we can harvest in the next week or two. Mike and I are delighted to know that townspeople and tourists will be enjoying the fruits of our hard labor. I was also delighted that their first order allowed be to recoup the cost of lunch. Ha!

A friend of mine from California will be visiting this week and I’ve promised her an afternoon of antique shopping. I think she will be surprised at the availability of antiques in Kentucky and the prices. There are several in the renovated/restored areas of downtown near the restaurant I mentioned. Maybe we’ll enjoy a lunch at the restaurant too. It’s a quaint 100-year old building, fully renovated, with hardwood floors and hand-carved mouldings…you know, things history buffs and antique lovers like us appreciate! Meanwhile, Mike will still be doing the farming thing. Poor baby!

The heat has been unbearable here at times. Last week the heat indexes were 114 degrees (Fahrenheit), but it has cooled a little. Surprisingly, the cattle bore the heat well, staying in the shade of their shed for the most part. He took some of the unsellable produce over for them to try, but mostly they ‘sneered’ at it and watched him closely to see if he would follow up with some pelletized food. He did and they were content…except for Sam the Charolais, who would really like to be on the nursery side with is new buddy,
Spot the Guersey.

A calf like spot is exactly why I bought Sam. When they were tiny Sam and a little brown bull calf were best buddies. At the time I didn’t know breeds, so all I can say is he was brown. I felt like the two should not be separated and bought Sam as a playmate when Mike bought the little brown calf. I also bought Diane sight-unseen, after the seller told me Sam would make a good breeder. I know, I know…what a green-horn! Anyway, when they were loading the first batch of calves to bring to us, the little brown calf got trampled and broke a leg. So instead of him missing Sam, Sam was now missing him. Then Spot arrived and Sam hardly leaves the area of the nursery. I think he thinks it’s the little brown calf. I tried to convince Mike to put them together and maybe Sam would grow faster. No luck.

I have been concerned that Sam’s growth rate is far behind the other calves– even Diane, the Charolais heifer we bought with the idea of mating them when they were old enough. She is nearly twice his size! Was he a miniature Charolais? Is he a midgit? He looks healthy and strong, he is just short–especially his muscular legs. So I resorted to looking up short Charolais on the internet and think I have the answer. Sam is not registered, but his is supposed to be a full-blooded Charolais. American Charolais and European Charolais are different. The America breed, since it was crossed early in the century with American herds, tends to have longer legs than European breeds. I don’t know if Sam is a throwback and the European trait is now emerging or if he was the product of two European Charolais parents, but it explains his ‘look’ well. If that is the case, he is a low birth weight (he was) bull and should be a great breeder for any cow once he matures, though he will likely be only 2/3 the size of the other bulls.

So I’m off today on errands and writing up a storm. I tried to schedule my posts, but that isn’t working. I’ll post when I can and ask for your continued patience.

Until we meet again…

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Animals, cattle information, Kentucky, lamentations of a city girl, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Aren’t I Posting Every Day?

  1. Jim T says:

    Write when you can, we’re enriched whenever you do. Other than that, you have more pressing obligations you know you should fulfill first. I’ve always said that, on the pie chart of your life, online obligations should represent the thinnest possible two-sided slice you could cut. Good luck with the thesis!

  2. Thanks, Jim. It is great advice!

Leave a Reply

