I Have the Power!

Caddyshack and his son arrived from the city yesterday. As is their custom when they are here on vacation, they like to chip in and help Mike. He planned to work their you-know-whats off yesterday, beginning with cleaning out the cow shed. I think as it turned out, it was just the opposite. They worked him to fatigue!

Fatigue. He and I are old friends, but I rarely see Mike so tired he can hardly move. Even as tired as he was from working in the ninety-plus temps yesterday, no one would know. He and Caddyshack still had the energy, as evening fell, to wrestle in the yard…literally. There they were two grown men (dare I say ‘old’ men?!) wrestling like a couple of Roman warriors (well, without the nakedness), three concerned dogs barking away, and Caddyson and me laughing. I really cackled when Caddyshack deliberately pulled Mike’s t-shirt tail up over his head in the ruckus! When they finished, Mike claimed the victory, which I suspect will be disputed today. I also suspect today both men will have sore muscles.

I got tickled at Caddyson. He was with the guys in the cow shed yesterday, with the babies and didn’t pet one! I can’t imagine that…but he wouldn’t go into the ‘nursery’ because he might get cow poop on his shoes. Uh-huh. I manage to avoid the ‘hot foot’ when I go in. It’s just a matter of watching where you walk!

I think I will buy him a pair of rubber boots for Christmas.

Mike said Big Mama stared him down yesterday for the first time. She even pawed the ground at one point, but soon settled when she saw the feed. I don’t think she liked three men in “her” shed. In fact, all the older calves were a little rambuncious yesterday, kicking up their heels and playing their domination games. Frack really needs to be a stud bull and leave poor Bruno alone!

The heat must bring out high testosterone levels and a need for competition– even in human wrestlers.

He-man, “I have the power!” Photo courtesy: http://hypebeast.com/2009/06/i-have-the-power-he-man-tribute-exhibition-recap/

Either that, or it’s that male dominance thing.

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Animals, humor, Kentucky, lamentations of a city girl, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Have the Power!

  1. Jim T says:

    You had better be collecting these for a book. These posts are delightful.

Leave a Reply

