Ah, Those Calf Babies!

I had a wonderful weekend visiting my family for the wedding and spending time with my grandsons. They are growing up so fast! I look forward to the day when they are old enough to spend some time with us here on the farm and can imagine the first time they get to touch one of our future calves.

While I was gone, Mike took some pictures of the calves-in-waiting. That is, the ones we purchased, but have not be delivered yet. He says it is hard to get them to stand still long enough for him to take a picture with his cell phone, but I think you can still see their beauty. Ah, those big brown eyes, soft hair, and sweet, shy dispositions come through well.

There are several different breeds in the nursery herd. Most you will recognize, so I not going to label them . Also, since I’m feeling lazy this morning after my weekend…I think I will let the pictures speak for themselves.

While I was gone to the wedding, there was a little problem back here on the farm. Seems a neighbor’s cattle got out and into the barn where we store the feed for our herd and desimated the stacks of feed. I do not know how many were destroyed, but it was certainly a good number since Mike just picked them up Thursday, I think. He never did see the neighbors cows, though…only the evidence they were there. He will cruise the property line today to see where they get through and buy more feed tomorrow.

On a side note, I received an email this morning from one of my professors and it looks like my thesis is ready for its final revision for my defense next month. I will begin that this week, so expect a few less posts as it is also now canning and pickling season. Mike is picking about a bushel of summer squash a day now and I will be starting some lime pickles this afternoon to turn into our friend Ann’s canned version of Fire and Ice Pickles. We love them so much we have not shared any with our friends and family. I want to remedy that this year, if the cukes produce well. Hopefully, there will be corn to share too. Mike has caught four raccoons this week in the cat traps. They now live elsewhere.

Caught stealing yellow corn. Sentence: release elsewhere in the county.

Ah, but I promised calve pictures, didn’t I? Here is more:

Have a great day! I am off to pick up supplies, harvest some cukes and start the pickles!

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Animals, cattle information, Kentucky, lamentations of a city girl, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

