Cat!

Eddie woke me up at six this morning. He wakes me up every morning and sometimes at night. There really is nothing like being sound asleep in the pitch black and suddenly realizing someone is staring at you less than a foot from your face, but this morning was different. I had stirred and opened my eyes to look at the clock before trying to fall back into that wonderful lala-land between sleep and wakefulness. I think the momentary opening of my eyes somehow gave him permission. Eighty pounds of dog made its home on the bed between Mike and I in one lunge. Scared Fritz too.

Being on the bed, instead on his bed wasn’t enough for Ed this morning. Oh no! He wanted me up. Now! He put his feet against Mike’s back and his back against me and pushed as hard as he could.

I got up.

It was daylight. Eddie wanted to play. I grabbed a cup of leftover coffee, nuked it and began to open the door, a process which he speeded up by sticking in his head as he darn-near ran out of it. He got stuck in the doorway momentarily, as the frame and the door jammed him somewhere between his neck and his shoulders. Finally, we made it. I had not taken the first sip of coffee.

So here I was thinking that dog really needed to do his business, but no-o-o-o-o… Spotting a cat he took off in a chase with me whispering his name to come back. (Mike was still trying to sleep.) He returned, but on the way back to me, he spotted another and forgot what he was doing. It is kind of like that movie with the dog that gets distracted at any movement and thinks its a “squirrel!” Yeah, that was Eddie and the cats– all seven of them.

I finally managed to hobble out to the lawn chair, coffee in hand, in the hopes that Eddie would do his business without a long walk to the apple trees on the other side of the house…his usual spot. No. He rummaged in the trash a racoon got into in the night. He dug a hole near one of the black cherry trees. He chased another cat. He sniffed and wandered following some invisible trail until losing his concentration when he crossed the path of another CAT! He stomped on the Irises, mooshed the asiatic lilies, rolled in the snow peas, dug at the oregano, and finally did his business…on the Easter lilies I planted last year and which only started blooming this morning. Thanks, Ed. They needed the fertilizer, I’m sure.

Well, we’re back in the house now waiting for Mike to get his last few zee’s in before the day begins. I’m wide awake, and Ed…

he’s curled up asleep on the floor.

My bet is he’s dreaming of …

CATS!

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Animals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

