Bawling and Complaining

Mike petting the babies

Went with Mike to see the little guys this morning. They are still bawling and complaining, but followed him around like a litter of puppies chasing their mama. It was feeding time and they were happy to see him.

The bigger calves were out in the pasture muching on forage in the cool morning sunshine ambivalent to the bush hog Earl operated on the field next to theirs. He got an early start this morning and had half that field complete before we got there…only about 20 more fields to do. Actually, I exaggerated. I’ve never counted the number of fields between the two farms that get bush hogged. Still, I really appreciate it when Earl is available to help…and he likes calves too!

It is still difficult for me to walk, let alone climb over the stall gates, so the pictures are not as clear as I’d like, but I think you can still get an idea of the newest calves’ size in comparison to Mike. That’s a bag of feed on his shoulder in the next picture, by the way. The feed bags only weigh about 50 lbs. That feed plus the forage from the pasture will help the new babies grow from the size of a German Shepherd right now, to marketable beef and dairy cattle. They should reach about 700-800 lbs by November.

Follow the leader to the food trough

As I moved around the storage area behind their stall (which will be cleaned out soon) to try and get a closer shot of the new babies, I found one playing peekaboo with me. The camera from my cell phone makes things look further away that they are. I was only about 8 feet from her.

Peekaboo

The dogs, sitting in the back seat of the pickup truck, of course couldn’t see the babies in the shed, but they could hear them and with each bawl, the dogs barked back a greeting. With the dogs barking, the babies bawling, the tractor and bush hog running, the crickets chirping, and the birds singing…whoever said that the country is quiet?!

After a quick stop for diesel fuel, Mike brought me back home to join Earl in the bush hogging.  Since I am hobbling okay, I wandered around the yard intent on getting some shots for the blog. Eventhough we’ve had some rain, and from the looks of it more on the way. Everything looks like late July. Plants are leggy and losing their blossoms. The brilliant green we normally see this time of year is browned down, too. I did get a couple of shots of the flowers nearest the house which somehow disappeared in the transfer from my phone to the computer. Have I mentioned to you that I am technologically deficient?! Sorry, I will try again another day.
Now, now…no bawling and complaining about it.  Hee-hee!

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Animals, cattle information, Kentucky, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

