Well, that didn’t work

Yesterday, I tried to start a new page on the blog, thinking all the June posts would fall under it. No such luck, so I’m back to posting where I was under the heading ‘Home”. Sorry for the confusion but remember, I warned you I was new to this blog.

We need to pick up feed for the cattle this morning. They love the stuff so much! We don’t give them much, because we want lean healthy cattle, not fat ones, but you would think it was free candy the way they line up at the trough waiting for Mike to spill it in. I noticed Horn, the lanky ‘teenager’, is beginning to fill out nicely, so it obviously is helping them. The pellitized feed does not contain any additivies, it is grain to supplement the grass they have readily available to them. We buy it at the local Southern States— another store I never dreamed I would venture into, silly me. They have so much available for home gardeners too. Our local store has such a knowledgeable staff, I think you could ask them about anything and they will have an answer or can refer you to an expert.

We still haven’t received that last of the herd. They were ‘bottle calves’ when we bought them, but we paid the owner a little extra to bring them along (weaning, vaccinations, etc.), but due to a personal and serious emergency, he hasn’t been able to deliver them yet. We understand the situation and are waiting patiently until he is ready. Mike says when the new ones arrive, they will be segregrated to prevent exposure to the other cattle in the event of Shipping Sickness and they will receive special feed with minerals until they can be included with the rest of the herd. After watching Frick and Frack and the dominance game with horns, it is probably for the best.

We have opted not to dehorn, but to re-sell the cattle while they are still young. The next owners can make their own decision on that score.

This is my last week of summer vacation and concentrating strictly on farming, though I will keep a hand in it and post daily on the blog. I have to finish my Masters thesis and will be interviewing for an as-needed job on Friday. Should make for even busier days ahead. I’m not the most organized person, but will definitely need to set and keep a schedule to accomplish as much as possible, so that is one task I will begin today…mapping out my days until it becomes habit. Ah yes, another farming attribute. It may not seem like it, but farmers and their spouses are extremely organized and the more organized they are, the better their farm. Time has to be set aside for the household, the farm, the equipment, the outside employment, the bookkeeping, and the unexpected. I never realized how much was in involved. I’m learning daily. So, if you asked me a few years ago whether farmers should receive subsidies to keep prices down, I probably would have told you no, let the market set the prices. Today, I would say, absolutely, positively, yes! If farmers charged their worth, none of us could afford a tomato. Unfortunately, the bulk of subsidies seem to go to corporate farms, not the little guys. That issue needs to be addressed.

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well, that didn’t work

  1. M.J.Deare says:

    You’re giving all of us non-farmers a whole new perspective on farming. I guess we all need to be more mindful of how much effort goes into every bite we eat. Thank you.

  2. Ah, thank you! It’s been eye opening for me, that’s for sure! I’m more convinced than ever to buy local products and support the local farmers.

Leave a Reply

