Used Cows for Sale

I told you about “window shopping” with craigslist yesterday and getting a giggle. Had another one today. Someone advertised “used cows” for sale. Apparently, they are 2-4 years old, but how have they been used? Did they eat themselves into a chocolate stupor lamenting the fact they felt “so used”? I’m sure there is an explanation that escapes me. I’m equally sure there is another joke that could be made, but we won’t go there.

To your right as you read this, you’ll notice some new widgets have been added. One is for SocialVibe and it displays the badge for the American Red Cross. This year’s weather has really hit farming communities and small town USA hard with flooding and record numbers of tornados– over 1,000 so far in the month of May alone. More are forecasted in the next 48 hours from supercell storms that will track from Kansas, Oklahoma, and Texas eastward. Kentucky has been warned of the worst expected storms, perhaps in history. If you have a few extra minutes, please take the time to click on the badge and answer a few questions. The companies sponsored there will donate to the American Red Cross (or the charity you choose) based on those clicks. Electrolux alone will donate up to $30,000. It costs you nothing.

As to storm preparations here, there is not much for us to do but wait and hope. The calves are probably protected from heavy winds, rain and lightening, so long as they are in their shed…I mean so long as they don’t get a direct hit. Mike, the dogs and I…well…we have no basement nor interior room. A portion of the bathroom is rather enclosed but in direct line of a small bathroom window. I’m thinking the dogs and I may spend the night in the crawl space. Mike thinks I’m silly, but hey I’m a California girl and these storms terrify me! We discussed it last night, he said I could get to low areas, like down by the creek, but then I’d have to worry about a flash flood. Or I could lie down in a low area but out in the open (uh, no!) I’d get wet if the house went anyway. Or I could go to his partners house and wait it out in their spidery basement…now that’s an idea! So, Chi-town buddies, if you come home and realize someone, other than copper thieves has been in your basement…it’s me! On the other hand, if you come home and find me laid out on the basement floor, it’s cause I hit my head on the “rafters” on the way down the stairs and knocked myself out!

Yeah, I’m feeling anxious about all this….

Here’s a link to a blogger that says we need to keep all this in perspective. http://blackjackoak.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/heartland-tornadoes-keeping-things-in-perspective/    It’s not the first time we’ve had a rash of killer tornadoes. True enough, but that hardly calms the nerves when we are warned of extreme and severe weather but have no place to go. I don’t care if it’s global warming, La Nina, or someone flushing a toilet. I still hate storms like this! I do appreciate her attempt to de-politicize the tornado issue, though. I seriously doubt Mother Nature is a Republican or a Democrat or that she gives a flying rat’s you-know-what about environmentalists and their agenda.

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Used Cows for Sale

  1. M.J.Deare says:

    Hello there, and thanks for the shout-out. The extreme weather has me rattled too. We used to live in the heart of tornado alley, so I can relate to that helpless feeling. Once I tried to get five dogs and myself into a tiny closet under a set of stairs when a tornado was headed our way. That cozy situation lasted about, oh, 30 seconds or so before the dogs started fighting. I just gave up and sat in the hallway while the dogs ran all over the house. The tornado did destroy several houses and killed a young boy not far from our home, so the threat was very real.
    I think we need to do a better job of protecting our people from tornadoes. Surely we can do better. In fact, I think I’ll do a blog post on that very subject.
    Hang in there. I heard Stephanie Abrams comment yesterday that the bathtub seems to be the safest place in a tornado if you’re at home and have no basement. Here’s hoping you never have to test out that theory!
    Enjoyed reading your very interesting blog this morning, and thanks again for your acknowledgement.
    Melanie

    • Thanks M.J. Our bathtub is on the south side of the house next to a window. Don’t think I’d be feeling too safe there. Under the bathroom sink, maybe. Ha! I loved your blog and thought others would appreciate it too.

  2. Pingback: Why Are We Having So Many Tornadoes? | Beneath the Oaks

Leave a Reply

