This is Eddie. Eddie was a ‘pound puppy’ we picked up from a no kill shelter a few weeks ago. When they got him, Eddie had been hit by a car and needed medical help. That was last July. He was in the kennel since then. We picked him because our previous dog, coincidently also named Eddie, passed away about last July. As you can see Eddie is a goofy dog.

When we first got him, he was a bit shy, loved women far more than men, and never made a sound. No bark, no whimper, no growl at the other dog, Fritz, nor at any of the seven cats on the farm. But I think you can also see the mischevious spark in his eye too. Eddie found his voice about a week ago when he spotted a deer. He’s still not much of a ‘talker’ but he LOVES to bark gently at the cattle in the fields…now it’s everyone’s cattle in the fields. I think he’d give anything to run and play with them. Of course, that is not going to happen, still…he knows one is close as he sticks his snout into the air to catch their scent long before we reach the enclosure. At least for now, Eddie thinks he’s a cattle dog in much the same way I think I’m a cattle baroness. Ha!

I think Eddie used to be a city dog. He loves to ride in the truck and daily bounds from our deck into the truck in one step, but he also recognizes sirens and listens intently until they pass. And this week, he has decided to be protective of us and our truck, growling and barking in a deep, big dog, I’m-gonna-eat-you kind of bark. He does not mind bank tellers, people in parking lots, or even friends that come over, but he HATES the lady that takes cash at McDonalds. Go figure!

We were told when we got him that Eddie is a runner and to keep him on a leash. So several times a day, we put his leash on and take him out. I cheat, though. I figure he has over 150 acres here to run, so always on our way back to the house, I drop the leash and watch as he races in figure eights around the yard. I swear he smiles at his speed, his freedom, and most of all the chance to play. He’s a little rough on poor Fritz, though. The Paterdale terrier is not much bigger than a large housecat and klutzy, goofy Eddie forgets he’s 80 lbs and clumsy. He darn near ran Fritz off yesterday while playing.

So there you have it…our farm family. Mike, the farmer, me, the city-girl, goofy Eddie and little Fritz and soon nearly three dozen cows (yeah, I know…feeder calves), most of which have been named. Sounds almost like Green Acres, huh? Speaking of which.. here’s a link to a new pig farmer. Sounds like she’s in the same boat as me. Check it out:

http://lostartsfound.wordpress.com/?sn=s

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

