Rain, rain go away

In addition to the rain nearly every day for a week, the temperatures turned off colder too. Last week, it was sunny for a couple of days and almost ninety. This week? Well, suffice it to say when I took the dogs out for their walks, I had to grab a jacket. It feels like March, not mid-May.

Hmmm…mid-May, that reminds me, I still haven’t registered the car or updated my driver’s license and the KSP will be setting up checkpoints for that nearby. Something about those checkpoints really bothers me. It’s like the authorities have determined that everyone is guilty of driving without a license, registration, or insurance, or they drive while intoxicated, so you have to prove yourself innocent. Seems like it flies in the face of the Constitution, to me. I feel the same way about drug testing. Not that I don’t want druggies who endanger others to be caught, but really…the idea that everyone should be tested so that a company can get reduced insurance rates infuriates me. (Having previously worked in a small business environment, that is exactly true.) I wonder why more people don’t question the practice.

What does that have to do with a farm blog? I was in Mike’s truck the other day looking for something and found some of the needles and medication we use on the calves when they are sick. That is the only purpose for having them, but I’m wondering how a cop would know the difference and whether even carrying it from one farm to the other could present problems. What are you supposed to do with them, if you need them at hand for emergency treatment of the animals? I mean, would a cop understand, “Really officer, Nando is dying and these are to dose him”?

Well, I don’t want to borrow trouble and such a thing probably has a low likelihood of occuring, but it might. Seems unfair that a majority of people, and particularly livestock people, should even have to think about it at all.

Ah, but it’s raining…time for playing housework catch-up, grocery shopping, and maybe visit the the courthouse to take care of vehicle business. At least in my sportscar I only have to worry about speeding…oh, and them checking to see if a non-drinker is bombed behind the wheel.

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

