What Everyone Wants to do on a Ninety Degree Day

A few of the calves at the food trough. They get pellet food with minerals in addition to hay and fresh pasture.

Absolutely the top of the list for what everyone wants to do on a ninety degree day…play Hide and Seek Cattle-style.  The calves are kept within an electric fence enclosure on about 300 acres. They have plenty of room to wander, eat, or lay in the shade of their feeding shed, but one them sported the bright idea to his roomies that getting out of the fence was a good idea. We arrived to feed them– they get a little pellet feed in addition to the grass and alfalfa– to an empty fence line. Each of us took turns driving the 4WD or walking up and down hills, through creeks, over dirt paths to hunt for them. I drove the main road, looked among the cattle on other nearby farms and darned near cried over the though of Sam and Diane out in the world all by themselves. That was my city-girl misconception. Truth is, calves stay together.

While I used to love visiting museums or shopping for the elusive bargain at a trendy store, I have to admit, Cattle Hide and Seek was a new experience. Who’da thought I’d be hiking through thickets and poison ivy in search of a cow poop trail?

We found them four hours later, at the edge of the woods near a different creek than the one I tried to put the tractor in, lounging in the shade and happy to be lead back to their shed home. And me? I was happy to go home for a nap!

We have new arrivals now. The Jersey boys, Frick and Frack, came two days ago. Bruno, the sleek coated big black angus bull, kept trying to mount poor Frack, who did not much like the advances and would charge Bruno with his stubby horns. Now I need to find out whether we leave the horns or not.

About cattlebaroness

I am a graduate of the University of Kentucky with a BA in History, nearing completion of a Master of Arts in American history. Born and raised first on military bases around the world, then in Orange County, CA, I moved to Kentucky when my children were small. I now live on a small family farm and am learning about farm life, planting and our newest addition to the landscape--cattle. Until a month or two ago, all I knew about 'cows' were that they came in brown, black and white and that some are raised for milk and others for meat. I am a quick study out of necessity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

